Scholar-Athletes Recognized at Annual Banquet

Emma Henrikson was named the female Student-Athlete of the Year.
April 12, 2016

SAN DIEGO – Recognizing outstanding achievement in the classroom, 314 San Diego State scholar-athletes were recognized at the 22nd Annual Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet on Mon., April 11.

In order to qualify as a Scholar-Athlete for the semester, a student-athlete must achieve at least a 3.00 cumulative GPA, or a 3.20 semester GPA.

Demonstrating excellence in academics, athletics, leadership and character, Paul Pitts III (Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.), a senior on the football team, and Emma Henrikson (Malmö, Sweden), a senior women’s golfer, were recognized as the 2015 Student-Athletes of the Year.

Pitts III, who is pursuing a joint bachelor’s and master’s degree in religion and liberal arts and sciences, was recently named the Arthur Ashe Jr. Male Sports Scholar of the Year by Diverse: Issues In Higher Education magazine. He finished with a perfect 4.00 GPA last semester en route to earning the team’s President’s Award, presented to the player who has achieved the highest standards of athlete and academic excellence. A five-time Dean’s List and Scholar-Athlete honoree, Pitts III played four seasons with the Aztecs, including 11 of the team’s 14 games this past year for the 2015 Mountain West championship team. Over his career, he logged playing time in 18 games, making two catches for 23 yards (11.5 avg.).

Henrikson, a finance major with a 3.27 cumulative grade point average, is a four-time Scholar-Athlete and has earned three Mountain West All-Academic Team nods. She is also a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and was named to the Dean’s List for the fall 2013 semester. The 2013 Mountain West Freshman of the Year, Henrikson has earned All-Conference first team honors each season on Montezuma Mesa. She currently has the fourth-lowest average score in the nation.

Additionally, the Malik Award was presented to 15 student-athletes who achieved the highest GPAs in a semester. The award is named after Dr. James Malik, who was a professor of chemistry for 44 years and a former faculty athletic representative at San Diego State.

Recipients of the Malik Award include Haley Brock (rowing), Vera Brockherde (rowing), Chase Calabuig (baseball), Samantha Camello (softball), Richard DeSantis (men’s golf), Ellison Grove (track and field), Sarah Haydock (track and field), Falon Manns (lacrosse), Francesca Orlando (softball), Paul Pitts III (football), Rachel Roesgen (track and field), Natilee Ruiz (swimming), Dora Somoracz (women’s tennis), Melissa Wendorf (track and field) and Madeleine Wiebe (swimming).

The Women’s Tennis team won the Team GPA Award for both the spring and fall of 2015. Men’s Soccer won the Team GPA award for spring 2015, while Men’s Tennis won the Team GPA award for fall 2015.

Garnering the Dr. James Kitchen Distinguished Service Award was Tom Simpson, who is a member of Aztec Shops’ customer service team working with the SDSU Bookstore.

22nd Annual San Diego State Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet

Student-Athletes of the Year
Emma Henrikson, women’s golf
Paul Pitts III, football

Malik Award Recipients (highest semester GPAs)
Haley Brock (rowing)
Vera Brockherde (rowing)
Chase Calabuig (baseball)
Samantha Camello (softball)
Richard DeSantis (men’s golf)
Ellison Grove (track and field)
Sarah Haydock (track and field)
Falon Manns (lacrosse)
Francesca Orlando (softball)
Paul Pitts III (football)
Rachel Roesgen (track and field)
Natilee Ruiz (swimming)
Dora Somoracz (women’s tennis)
Melissa Wendorf (track and field)
Madeleine Wiebe (swimming)

Team GPA Award Winners
Men's Soccer (spring 2015)
Women's Tennis (spring 2015, fall 2015)
Men’s Tennis (fall 2015)           

Dr. Jim Kitchen Distinguished Service Award
Tom Simpson – Aztec Bookstore

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago