1987 Men's Rugby Team
1987  Men's Rugby Team

National Champions

Hall of Fame Class of 2005

The 1987 San Diego State rugby team won the national championship in Pebble Beach, Calif., by defeating Air Force, 10-9. The Aztecs, who knocked off Dartmouth in the semifinals, advanced to the final four by knocking off then six-time national champion California for the Pacific Coast championship. The team ended the season with a perfect 13-0 record, including a 5-0 mark in the playoffs, while three players earned All-America accolades. Sean Allen, Dennis Gonzales and Chris Lippert went on to become members of the U.S. men's national team program.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago