Three Aztecs on College Baseball HOF Award Watch Lists

Danny Sheehan is a candidate for the Brooks Wallace Award, presented to the top collegiate shortstop in the nation.
April 20, 2017

Three San Diego State baseball players have been named to a pair of postseason awards watch lists released recently by the College Baseball Hall of Fame. Danny Sheehan is a candidate for the 2017 Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award while Brett Seeburger and Dominic Purpura are on the list for National Pitcher of the Year, college baseball’s version of the Cy Young award.

Sheehan, a senior from Covina, Calif. (South Hills HS), is currently hitting .331 with 11 doubles, two home runs, 26 RBI and 31 runs scored over 38 games. His fielding percentage stands at .968 and he has been involved in 32 doubles plays this season. In Mountain West play he has a .385 batting average and he is the lone shortstop in the conference on the list for the award.

Seeburger, a senior from Monrovia, Calif. (La Salle HS), enters the weekend with a record of 7-1 and a 3.38 earned run average. SDSU's regular Friday night starter, Seeburger is second in the Mountain West in earned run average (3.38) and strikeouts looking with 20 as well as fifth in total strikeouts with 42 over his 56 innings pitched. He is one of two pitchers from the conference under consideration for the honor.

The other pitching candidate from the Mountain West is SDSU senior left-hander Dominic Purpura (Hinsdale, Ill.), a second-year Aztec by way of Orange Coast College. Purpura is 6-0 this season and his 2.85 earned run average leads the conference heading into this week’s series at UC Santa Barbara. His 2.32 earned run average in conference contests ranks second in the league.

Both the Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award, sponsored by Mizuno, and the National Pitcher of the Year Award, sponsored by Diamond, will be presented at the National College Baseball Hall of Fame Night of Champions on July 2 in Lubbock, Texas.

San Diego State is in Santa Barbara, Calif., this weekend for a three-game non-conference series against UC Santa Barbara that gets underway Friday evening at 6:00 p.m. at UCSB's Caesar Uyehara Stadium.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago