Adkison, Sheehan Named 3rd Team ABCA/Rawlings All-Americans

Danny Sheehan (above) along with teammate Tyler Adkison has been named a 2017 ABCA/Rawlings Third Team All-American.
June 19, 2017

SAN DIEGO - San Diego State outfielder Tyler Adkison and shortstop Danny Sheehan have been named to the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA)/Rawlings All-America Third Team. The announcement comes on the heels of both players being selected to the ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Division I All-Region First Team last week.

Adkison was previously chosen an Honorable Mention All-American by Perfect Game while Sheehan was honored as a 2017 Third Team All-American by Collegiate Baseball. Both were named to the All-Mountain West first team this past season with Sheehan also picking up the league’s Tony Gwynn Co-Player of the Year award.

Adkison (Culver City, Calif. / Mater Dei HS) played primarily in left field for the Aztecs this past season. He batted .337 overall with 14 doubles, a triple, 15 home runs, 64 RBI and 43 runs scored in 56 contests. In addition to leading the team in home runs, RBI and walks, he was first in slugging percentage (.648) and on-base percentage (.445). His 15 home runs were the most by an Aztec since Chris Gwynn hit a school-record 19 over 89 games during the 1984 campaign. His 64 RBI ranks 13th on the SDSU all-time single season list as well.

Sheehan, who redshirted in 2016, picked up where he left off two years ago by hitting .344 with 17 doubles, a triple, seven home runs 54 RBI and 54 runs scored. He batted .398 in conference play with 31 RBI and 32 runs scored, and ended the season ranked among the top 10 in 11 offensive categories in Mountain West play.

First recognized in 1949, the ABCA/Rawlings All-Americans are selected by the ABCA All-America committee, which is chaired by Dean Ehehalt of Monmouth University. The committee also includes head coaches Mike Stone (Massachusetts), Brian O'Connor (Virginia), Butch Thompson (Auburn), Steve Jaksa (Central Michigan), Dan Heefner (Dallas Baptist), Tommy Raffo (Arkansas State) and George Horton (Oregon).

In all divisions, the ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Teams will be announced on Wednesday, June 21, and the ABCA Players of the Year will be announced Wednesday, June 28.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago