SDSU Basketball's Kelvin Davis Named 2010 V Foundation Comeback Award Finalist

March 11, 2010

SAN DIEGO - San Diego State senior guard Kelvin Davis (Waterbury, Conn.) has been named one of nine finalists for the 2010 V Foundation Comeback Award, which is given to a college basketball player or team who has accomplished a personal triumph in the face of true adversity, be it in health, life or moral dilemma. Davis was nominated by BYU head basketball coach Dave Rose, marking the first time in the award's 10-year history that a student-athlete has be nominated by a coach from an opposing team.

Davis is in his third year with the Aztecs after playing at UTEP and College of Southern Idaho. He appeared in all 33 games, making five starts on The Mesa in 2007-08 as a junior. Following that campaign, he was diagnosed with Hodgkin's lymphoma and underwent a series of 12 chemotherapy treatments over a five-month span. Davis attempted to return to action a year later, but was limited to only eight games and was awarded a sixth-year of eligibility last summer.

As a senior, he has played in 30 contests, starting seven times and tying for second on the team in 3-pointers made with 32. Last April, Davis was the recipient of the 2009 U.S. Basketball Writers Association's "Most Courageous Award" which was established in 1978 and has been given out annually to a player, coach, official or administrator who has demonstrated extraordinary courage reflecting honor in the sport of amateur basketball.

The V Foundation Comeback Award winner will be announced March 30 during ESPN's basketball coverage. Other finalists include Georgia Tech's D'Andre Bell, Youngstown State's Dallas Blocker, Denver's Brianna Culberson, Nebraska's Kelsey Griffin, Florida Atlantic's Sanchez Hughley, Francsican University's Thomas Kleinschnitz, Waynesburg's Kristen Lucci and Longwood's Dana Pernell Smith II.

The award is presented in memory of Jim Valvano, the late basketball coach and ESPN commentator, whose personal battle with cancer inspired the creation of The V Foundation. In his memorable speech at ESPN's inaugural ESPY Awards announcing the creation of The V Foundation, Valvano's "Don't Give Up. . .Don't Ever Give Up!"® motto created a legacy from which the Comeback Award was created.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago