Men’s Hoops to Begin Home-and-Home Series with BYU in 2018-19

May 1, 2018

SAN DIEGO - San Diego State and Brigham Young announced today that they have agreed to a home-and-home men’s basketball series that will begin with the 2018-19 campaign. The first match-up will be played at Viejas Arena next season on Dec. 22, 2018, with the Aztecs returning to Provo, Utah for the 2019-20 season on Nov. 9, 2019.

The teams will meet in 2018-19 for the first time since the 2014 EA SPORTS Maui Invitational quarterfinal round when SDSU defeated BYU in double overtime, 92-87. That was the first time the schools shared the hardwood since they were both members of the Mountain West back in 2010-11.

San Diego State defeated of the Cougars in their final meeting of ’10-11, which came in the conference tournament championship game. The No. 7/6 Aztecs earned a 72-54 decision over No. 8/8 Brigham Young to finish an MW sweep of the regular-season (shared title with BYU) and tournament crowns. The victory propelled SDSU into the NCAA tournament where it advanced to the Sweet 16 before finishing with a record of 34-3 and a No. 6/11 final national ranking.

As for the Cougars, they will make their first appearance at Viejas Arena since Feb. 26, 2011, and are coming off a 2017-18 season that saw them post a 24-11 record (11-7 West Coast Conference). BYU earned a spot in the 2018 NIT and fell at Stanford, 86-83.

SDSU-Brigham Young games at Viejas Arena attracted sold-out crowds before the Cougars left the Mountain West after the 2010-11 season and San Diego State is currently accepting men’s basketball season ticket renewals. Current season ticket holders are to renew at and have until Monday, May 14, to do so.

Those who wish to renew are to visit and log in with their account number/email and password.

All information regarding season ticket renewals can be found here:

This past season, the Aztecs made their seventh NCAA tournament appearance in the last nine years and their 12th postseason berth in the last 13 seasons. SDSU finished the 2017-18 campaign with a 22-11 record and won the Mountain West tournament crown, its conference-leading 11th league championship.

SDSU won nine of its final 10 games of the campaign and is expected to return starters Jalen McDaniels, Matt Mitchell and Devin Watson as well as significant contributors Jeremy Hemsley, Jordan Schakel and Nolan Narain for the 2018-19 campaign.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago