Xavier Thames on 2013 Cousy Award Watch List

Xavier Thames is on the 2013 Cousy Award watch list.

Dec. 20, 2012

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - San Diego State junior guard Xavier Thames is a candidate for the 2013 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame announced today. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men's college basketball. Over 80 candidates have been nominated for the 2013 Bob Cousy Award.

Thames, a Sacramento, Calif., native is in his second year at SDSU, averaging 10.4 points, 2.6 rebounds and 3.0 assists, while starting all 10 games for the No. 18/15 Aztecs. A season ago, Thames earned 2012 Mountain West honorable mention accolades after he helped San Diego State to a share of the MW regular-season crown.

Thames is the second Aztec to be nominated for the award in school history, following in the footsteps of D.J. Gay during the 2010-11 campaign. That season, Gay finished as one of 10 finalists for the prestigious honor.

"The Hall of Fame is proud to continue its mission with Mr. Cousy to celebrate and honor the top collegiate point guards in the country," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "This list represents a large range of college basketball's top student athletes from across the country. We are excited to recognize these players for their continuous hard work and dedication."

"The Bob Cousy Award promotes the values of leadership, determination, and teamwork, all skills needed on the basketball court and in life," said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). "Mr. Cousy exemplified all of these traits, and inspired so many people on and off the court. We hope that this coveted award continues to honor his legacy."

This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 around January 1, final 10 near February 1, and final five by approximately March 1. A premier Selection Committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the final five candidates in contention for the nation's top collegiate point guard award. These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Championship Monday in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year's recipient Kendall Marshall (North Carolina). For more information on the 2013 Bob Cousy, log onto www.CousyAward.com.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago