SDSU Football Earns Honors in Lindy's 2012 Preview

Nik Embernate was among six SDSU football players to be named by Lindy's Sports to the 2012 preseason all-MW first and second teams.

June 13, 2012

SAN DIEGO - Lindy's Sports recently tabbed six San Diego State football players to its 2012 preseason all-Mountain West first and second teams.

Junior tight end Gavin Escobar and senior offensive lineman Nik Embernate earned first-team recognition on offense, while junior wide receiver Colin Lockett was named to the first team as an all-purpose selection. Senior cornerback Leon McFadden, meanwhile, was selected to the defensive first team. Senior center Alec Johnson earned offensive second-team honors and junior defensive back Nat Berhe was named to the defensive second team.

Escobar, an Athlon Sports and Phil Steele preseason all-MW first-team selection, was ranked at No. 3 in Lindy's MW top-10 NFL talent list. Two more Aztecs were tabbed to the list, as senior quarterback Ryan Katz and senior wide receiver Brice Butler were ranked at No. 2 and No. 10, respectively. Katz also garnered preseason MW Newcomer of the Year honors. Lockett, meanwhile, was named by Lindy's as the "most dangerous deep threat" in the MW.

McFadden, an Athlon Sports and Phil Steele preseason all-MW first-team honoree, earned preseason MW Defensive Player of the Year honors from Lindy's and was tabbed as being the "best cover corner" in the league.

The Aztecs, who were picked to finish fourth in the league by Lindy's, get their 2012 season underway on Sept. 1 with a contest at Washington. Lindy's has tabbed that matchup as well as SDSU at Fresno State (Sept. 29), SDSU at Boise State (Nov. 3) and SDSU at Wyoming (Nov. 24) as games to watch.

Season tickets can be purchased online through, over the phone by calling (619) 283-7378, or by visiting the Aztec Ticket Office at Qualcomm Stadium's Window "E." The ticket office is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Lindy's Sports 2012 Preseason All-MW Team (SDSU Players Only)

First Team: TE Gavin Escobar, OL Nik Embernate, AP Colin Lockett, CB Leon McFadden

Second Team: C Alec Johnson, S Nat Berhe

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago