Ezell Ruffin Named to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Ezell Ruffin has been named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, which is handed out to the most outstanding receiver.

July 15, 2014



San Diego State senior Ezell Ruffin (Long Beach, Calif.) has been selected to the preseason watch list for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award, which recognizes the nation's most outstanding receiver in college football. It marks the second consecutive year Ruffin has been a candidate for the award, after being added to the watch list last season in November.

Ruffin has already received second-team all-Mountain West honors from Phil Steele and third-team accolades from Athlon Sports this summer. The Long Beach, Calif., native is coming off an outstanding junior season, where he recorded team highs of 68 receptions for 1,136 yards and a 16.7 average per catch with three touchdowns en route to being an all-MW honorable mention pick.

Some of Ruffin's best performances in 2013 include six catches for 108 yards and his first-career touchdown in a victory over Air Force on Oct. 10, a game with 10 receptions for 181 yards against Fresno State on Oct. 26 and seven catches for 165 yards and two touchdowns in SDSU's win over New Mexico on Nov. 2.

He is one of only five Aztecs in program history to be named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, joining J.R. Tolver (semifinalist in 2002), Kassim Osgood (preseason in 2002), Vincent Brown (semifinalist in 2009 and preseason in 2010) and Colin Lockett (preseason in 2011 and 2012).

Ruffin is the third San Diego State player to be named to a preseason award watch list, joining Jordan Smith (Rimington Trophy) and J.J. Whittaker (Jim Thorpe Award).

The Biletnikoff Award is named after Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college hall of fame who was an All-Pro receiver and Super Bowl XI MVP with the Oakland Raiders, as well as an All-America receiver at Florida State. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, which is a group of 221 prominent college football journalists, commentators and former receivers. More players may be added to the watch list based on their performance during the season.

The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on Dec. 11, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. In addition, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation will announce 10 semifinalists on Nov. 17.

San Diego State returns 12 starters and 35 letterwinners from a team that finished 8-5 overall and 6-2 in Mountain West play a year ago, culminating with a victory over Buffalo, 49-24, in the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl. With its bowl game appearance, the Aztecs became one of only 29 teams in the nation, and one of just five non-BCS schools, to play in a bowl game in each of the last four seasons.

Season tickets are currently on sale through GoAztecs.com and the SDSU ticket office (619) 283-SDSU. An internet only presale for the KGB SkyShow game on Nov. 8 against Idaho is now available for KGB listeners, SDSU season-ticket holders and Aztec Nation subscribers.

Tickets for all individual home games go on sale to the general public on July 21 at 9 a.m. PT, and are available on GoAztecs.com, by phone (619) 283-7378 (Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.) or in person at Qualcomm Stadium Window "E" (Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.).

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago