Ezell Ruffin Added to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Ezell Ruffin has been named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

Nov. 5, 2013

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - San Diego State junior Ezell Ruffin (Long Beach, Calif./Woodrow Wilson High) has been named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, presented annually to college football's outstanding receiver. Ruffin was the only addition to the list this week.

On the season, Ruffin has 47 receptions for 823 yards and three touchdowns, averaging 17.5 yards per catch. He ranks third in the Mountain West and 18th nationally in receiving yards per game (102.9) and tied for ninth in the MW and tied for 40th in the country in receptions per game (5.88). His 17.5 average per catch, meanwhile, is second in the league among players with at least 47 receptions.

Ruffin, who was a midseason all-Mountain West third-team pick by Phil Steele, has three straight 100-yard receiving games (tied for eighth-longest streak ever at SDSU), four on the season and five for his career (tied for 23rd all-time at SDSU). Since Oct. 21 (last two games), Ruffin leads the nation in receiving yards (346) and is tied for seventh in catches (17). He is also fourth in the country in receiving yards per game (151.3) since Oct. 10 and eighth (125.0) since Sept. 28.

For his career, Ruffin has 64 receptions for 1,142 yards and three touchdowns, averaging 17.8 yards per catch.

Ruffin is the fifth Aztec in program history to be named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, joining J.R. Tolver (semifinalist in 2002), Kassim Osgood (preseason in 2002), Vincent Brown (semifinalist in 2009 and preseason in 2010) and Colin Lockett (preseason in 2011 and 2012).

Ruffin is now one of 89 players on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List. A vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee will determine the 10 semifinalists, which will be announced on Nov. 18. The three finalists will be released a week later on Nov. 25 with the winner announced on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12.

Additionally, the Biletnikoff Award has opened its online fan vote for the award candidates. The top 10 aggregate fan votes for receivers will each count as the equivalent for one national selection committee vote for each of those 10 semifinalists. The subsequent top-3 votes for the 10 semifinalists and top 1 for the finalists will also count as one national selection committee vote.

Winners of four of its last five games, 10 of its last 11 Mountain West contests, four of its last five road games and five straight November outings, San Diego State travels to San José State on Saturday. Kickoff for the Aztecs (4-4, 3-1 MW) and Spartans (5-3, 4-0 MW) is set for 7:30 p.m. PT and will be broadcast live nationally on CBS Sports Network.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago