Rashaad Penny Named a Finalist for the Walter Camp Award

Rashaad Penny is a Walter Camp Award finalist.
Nov. 29, 2017

NEW HAVEN, Conn. -

Tickets (Aztec Club/Season Ticket Holders)

San Diego State senior Rashaad Penny (Norwalk, Calif.) has been named a finalist for the 2017 Walter Camp Player-of-the-Year award, the Walter Camp Foundation announced Wednesday. Penny is one of five who made the final cut for the fourth-oldest college football award in the nation.

Penny, who was a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award (college player of the year) and Doak Walker Award (nation’s premier running back), has rushed for a NCAA FBS-best 2,027 yards and 19 touchdowns on 275 carries (7.4 avg.), while adding 18 catches for 142 yards (7.9 avg.) and two touchdowns, 15 kickoff returns for 459 yards (30.6 avg.) and two touchdowns, and two punt returns for 70 yards (35.0 avg.), including a 70-yard touchdown. He is a two-time Walter Camp FBS National Offensive Player of the Week pick this year, five-time MW Offensive Player of the Week winner and a two-time MW Special Teams Player of the Week.

Penny currently leads FBS in rushing yards (2,027), rushing yards per game (168.9), all-purpose yards (2,698) and all-purpose yards per game (224.8), and is second in total touchdowns (24), points (144) and points per game (12.0), tied for third in rushing touchdowns (19), tied for fourth in kickoff return touchdowns (2), fifth in rushing yards per carry (7.4), seventh in kickoff return average (30.6) and tied for 10th in punt return touchdowns (1). Penny has rushed for at least 100 yards in 10 of the team’s 12 games this year and five times eclipsed 200 yards.

Penny is joined on the finalist list by fellow running backs Bryce Love (Stanford) and Saquon Barkley (Penn State), and quarterbacks Lamar Jackson (Louisville) and Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma).

The winner of the Walter Camp Player of the Year is voted on by the 130 FBS head coaches and sports information directors, and will be announced Thursday, Dec. 7 during the 6 p.m. ET edition of ESPN SportsCenter.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp, a former Yale athlete and football coach, is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to 11 men per side.

San Diego State (10-2), which is ranked 25th in the latest Amway Coaches Poll, has won four consecutive games by a combined score of 157-47. The Aztecs have reached double-digits in wins for a school-record third straight season.

SDSU will find out its bowl destination next Sunday (Dec. 3).

Aztec Club members and San Diego State football season ticket holders can purchase tickets through deferred payment with Aztec Club Priority Point rank determining seat locations until Dec. 3. Click here for more information. The general public can purchase tickets online (GoAztecs.com) starting two hours after the bowl announcement on Dec. 3, and in person (SDCCU Stadium Window E) and over the phone ((619) 283-7378) beginning on Dec. 4.

2017 Walter Camp Player of the Year Finalists
Rashaad Penny, RB, San Diego State
Saquon Barkley, RB, Penn State
Lamar Jackson, QB, Louisville
Bryce Love, RB, Stanford
Baker Mayfield, QB, Oklahoma

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago