SDSU Football Announces 2012 Team Awards

Leon McFadden was named the team's MVP of the 2012 season

Dec. 6, 2012

SAN DIEGO - Photo Gallery

San Diego State senior cornerback Leon McFadden (Inglewood, Calif.) was named the 2012 team MVP and given the John Simcox Memorial Trophy at the team's annual banquet on Sunday.

McFadden, a three-year starter, led the team in interceptions (3), pass breakups (10) and is fourth in total tackles (59). The senior was one of 16 Aztecs to receive an award on the day.

A pair of sophomores took home the Byron H. Chase Awards for the team's top offensive and defensive players. Running back Adam Muema (Covina, Calif.) earned Offensive Player-of-the-Year honors, while linebacker Jake Fely (Oceanside, Calif.) was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Muema led SDSU in rushing this season with 1,391 yards and an impressive 6.4 yards-per-carry average with 16 touchdowns. He also caught eight passes for 113 yards and a score.

Fely was second on the team with 86 tackles, including a team-high 11.5 tackles for loss. The sophomore linebacker also led the Aztecs with seven sacks, two fumble recoveries and two forced fumbles.

Senior running back Walter Kazee (San Bernardino, Calif.) was selected as the team's Most Inspirational Player in addition to being named one of three Dr. R. Hardy/C.E. Peterson Captain Award winners, along with McFadden and senior wide receiver Dominique Sandifer (Gardena, Calif.).

Kazee was SDSU's second-leading rusher this season with 840 yards and was second on the team with eight touchdowns. Sandifer, who missed all of the 2011 season with a knee injury, caught 18 passes for 204 yards and a touchdown.

Senior Nik Embernate (Yucaipa, Calif.) was selected Offensive Lineman of the Year, while sophomore Sam Meredith (La Mesa, Calif.) was named Defensive Lineman of the Year. Senior D.J. Shields (Bonita, Calif.) earned the President's Award for High Academic Achievement, Seamus McMorrow (San Diego, Calif.) took the Outstanding Freshman Award and junior Scott Graves (Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif.) was named Special Teams Outstanding Player of the Year.

In addition, offensive Scout Team Players of the Year were freshmen Lloyd Mills (Chandler, Ariz.), Kendrick Mathis (Ventura, Calif.) and Daniel Brunskill (Valley Center, Calif.). Defensive Scout Team Players of the Year were sophomore Kenny Galea'i (Oceanside, Calif.) and junior Kevin Campano (San Diego, Calif.), while freshman Nick Rudolph (Ventura, Calif.) earned Scout Team Player of the Year for special teams.

SDSU finished the season with a record of 9-3 and won a share of the Mountain West championship after going 7-1 in league play. The Aztecs, winners of seven straight games, will face Brigham Young in the San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl Thursday, Dec. 20 at 5 p.m. PT at Qualcomm Stadium.

John Simcox Memorial Award

2012 Most Valuable Player
Leon McFadden

Byron H. Chase Memorial Awards

Offensive Player of the Year:
Adam Muema

Defensive Player of the Year:
Jake Fely

Dr. R. Hardy/C.E. Peterson 2012 Captain's Awards
Leon McFadden, Walter Kazee, Dominique Sandifer

Most Inspirational Player
Walter Kazee

President's Award for High Academic Achievement
D.J. Shields

Offensive Lineman of the Year
Nik Embernate

Defensive Lineman of the Year
Sam Meredith

Outstanding Freshman Award
Seamus McMorrow

Special Teams Outstanding Player of the Year
Scott Graves

Scout Team Players of the Year
Offense: Lloyd Mills, Kendrick Mathis, Daniel Brunskill

Defense: Kenny Galea'i, Kevin Campano

Special Teams: Nick Rudolph


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago