SDSU Football Announces 2014 Team Awards

Head coach Rocky Long handed out the team's John Simcox Memorial Trophy (team MVP) to Donnel Pumphrey.
Dec. 8, 2014


SAN DIEGO - San Diego State sophomore running back Donnel Pumphrey (Las Vegas, Nev.) was awarded the John Simcox Memorial Trophy as the 2014 team MVP at the team's annual banquet on Sunday.

Pumphrey also took home the Byron H. Chase Memorial Offensive Player of the Year award, after rushing for 1,755 yards, which ranks second in school history, and 19 touchdowns so far this season. Pumphrey, a first-team all-Mountain West selection, leads the MW in rushing yards per carry (6.9, min. 10 att.), and has also caught 19 passes for 118 yards.

Sophomore linebacker Calvin Munson (St. Charles, Mo.) received the Byron H. Chase Memorial Defensive Player of the Year award, as he tied a team high with 78 total tackles and led the team with 10.5 tackles for loss, four sacks and four interceptions. Munson was an all-MW honorable mention pick this season.

San Diego State senior wide receiver Ezell Ruffin (Long Beach, Calif.), offensive lineman Terry Poole (Seaside, Calif.), defensive back J.J. Whittaker (Oceanside, Calif.) and defensive lineman Sam Meredith (La Mesa, Calif.) each received the Dr. R. Hardy/C.E. Peterson 2014 Captain's Awards. In addition, junior long snapper Jeff Overbaugh (Anchorage, Alaska) was awarded the President's Award for high academic achievement, and junior linebacker Jake Fely (Oceanside, Calif.) was named Most Inspirational Player.

Poole was selected as Offensive Lineman of the Year, sophomore Alex Barrett (Mesa, Ariz.) was named Defensive Lineman of the Year, redshirt freshman Trey Lomax (San Diego, Calif.) earned the Outstanding Freshman award and junior kicker Donny Hageman (Covina, Calif.) was named Special Teams Outstanding Player of the Year.

A second-team all-MW selection this season, Poole anchored an offensive line that ranks tied for 15th in the nation in tackles for loss allowed per game (4.6) and helped SDSU rush for 2,623 yards and 218.6 yards per game, which ranks 28th in the country. Barrett has recorded 39 total tackles, nine tackles for loss, three sacks, three pass breakups, a forced fumble and a blocked kick en route to garnering MW honorable mention accolades.

Lomax started 11 of the team's 12 games this season and is third on the squad with 63 total tackles, along with three tackles for loss, three pass breakups, a sack and a team-high two fumble recoveries. Meanwhile, Hageman made 17-of-21 field-goal attempts this season, including 5-of-6 from 40 yards or longer.

Freshman wide receiver Andrew Schuurs (Mission Viejo, Calif.) and freshman offensive lineman Joe Salcedo (Santa Barbara, Calif.) were selected co-Scout Team Offensive Players of the Year, freshman defensive lineman Noble Hall was named Scout Team Defensive Player of the Year and senior defensive back Kevin Campano (San Diego, Calif.) earned Scout Team Special Teams Player of the Year.

The San Diego State (7-5) will play Navy in the San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl on Tuesday, Dec. 23 at 6:30 p.m. PST. The Aztecs, who tied for first in the West Division of the Mountain West at 5-3, will be playing in their school-record fifth consecutive bowl game after playing in just five over their previous 43 years. SDSU is one of just 27 schools to advance to five straight bowl games and one of just three "Group of 5" programs.

2014 SDSU Team Awards

John Simcox Memorial Trophy
Most Valuable Player

Donnel Pumphrey

Byron H. Chase Memorial Trophy
Offensive Player of the Year

Donnel Pumphrey

Defensive Player of the Year
Calvin Munson

Dr. R. Hardy/C.E. Peterson Memorial Trophy
Captain's Awards

Sam Meredith
Terry Poole
Ezell Ruffin
J.J. Whittaker

President's Award
High Academic Achievement

Jeff Overbaugh

Most Inspirational Player
Jake Fely

Most Valuable Special Teams Player
Donny Hageman

Outstanding Freshman Award
Trey Lomax

Offensive Lineman of the Year
Terry Poole

Defensive Lineman of the Year
Alex Barrett

Prep Player Award
Scout Team Player of the Year

Kevin Campano

Offensive Scout Team Players of the Year
Andrew Schuurs
Joe Salcedo

Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year
Noble Hall

Purchasing tickets to the Poinsettia Bowl through the Aztec ticket office ensures seats in the San Diego State section and helps the Aztecs reach their ticket obligation.

Current San Diego State students will have the opportunity to purchase one discounted bowl ticket at the Viejas Arena ticket office with a reduced cost of $10 beginning on Dec. 8 at 10 a.m. PT (first 500 students will get the discounted price). Additionally, Aztec students can purchase two additional guest tickets for $35 apiece (in the same section as the student tickets).

Beginning Sale Date/Time: Dec. 8 at 10 a.m. PT
Location: Viejas Arena ticket office
Cost: $10 (first 500 students) for one ticket with current SDSU student ID
- Students can also purchase two additional tickets for $35 apiece in same section as the student tickets
- After the 500 $10 tickets are sold, students may purchase up to three seats for $35 apiece

Members of the general public can begin purchasing the San Diego State bowl ticket allotment block beginning on Monday, Dec. 8 at 9 a.m. PT at the SDSU ticket office at Qualcomm Stadium, window E, by calling (619) 283-7378 or by visiting

Beginning Sale Date/Time: Dec. 8 at 9 a.m. PT
Location: SDSU ticket office at Qualcomm Stadium window E, by calling (619) 283-7378 or by visiting
Cost: Dependent on seat location

Season ticket holders and members of the Aztec Club have until Tuesday, Dec. 9, to order to receive their priority seats.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago