Pumphrey, Siragusa Capture AP All-American Accolades

Dec. 12, 2016


Las Vegas Bowl Tickets | Clips

San Diego State seniors Nico Siragusa and Donnel Pumphrey comprise the program’s first Associated Press (AP) All-American duo since 1988, as Pumphrey earned second-team honors and Siragusa was named to the third team. The pair are two of three Mountain West honorees, with three teams comprised of 12 players on defense and 13 offensive players.

This is Siragusa's second-career All-American award, both earned this season, while Pumphrey picks up the seventh All-America accolade of his career (Sports Illustrated, 2014, 2015, 2016; Sporting News, 2016; USA Today, 2016; Walter Camp, 2016). Pumphrey is the first second-team AP All-American since fellow running back Larry Ned in 2001 and Siragusa is the program’s first offensive lineman honored with AP All-America recognition since Kyle Turley in 1997.  

Last week, Siragusa was named a USA Today first-team All-American, becoming the first Aztec to earn first-team All-American distinction since Kirk Morrison was a College Football News first-team All-American in 2003 and the first offensive lineman honored since Mike Malano was a Football Writers Association of America first-team All-American in 1999. He was also the first USA Today first-team honoree in program history.

Named a Pro Football Focus All-American for his efforts this season, Siragusa graded out as the nation's third-best guard and third-best run blocker. San Diego State's first offensive lineman to be named a first-team all-Mountain West selection twice after his 2016 honor, Siragusa has not allowed a sack in 846 snaps, according to the ProFootballFocus.com. He has helped SDSU rush for a school-record 3,553 rushing yards and 16 100-yard games by three different backs.

Pumphrey, the first San Diego State player to win two league offensive player-of-the-year awards in program history, has compiled a school-record 2,018 rushing yards and 16 touchdowns on 330 carries (6.1 avg.) this season, while adding a team-high 26 catches for 205 yards (7.9 avg.). One of four players in FBS to lead his team in rushing yards and catches, Pumphrey is ranked second in the country in rushing yards (2,018), rushing yards per game (155.2) and all-purpose yards (2,229), despite not playing in the fourth quarter in four of the past seven games.

A finalist for the Doak Walker Award (top running back), and semifinalist for the Maxwell Award (college player of the year) and Walter Camp Player-of-the-Year award, Pumphrey had a streak of nine games with at least 100 rushing yards earlier this season, the second longest in school history and the longest in MW history. Pumphrey is the first offensive player in MW history with three first-team honors (2014-16) and the third player overall, joining former Aztecs Kirk Morrison (2002-04) and Leon McFadden (2010-12).

Against Wyoming in the MW Championship game on Dec. 3, Pumphrey ran for 110 yards on 25 carries with one touchdown to help SDSU claim its second straight conference title and 21st in program history. With his total, Pumphrey surpassed Ricky Williams for second place on the all-time NCAA FBS rushing list with 6,290 yards.

The Aztecs (10-3) will square off against Houston (9-3) in the Las Vegas Bowl on Saturday, Dec. 17 at 12:30 p.m. PT. The game will be played at Sam Boyd Stadium and will be broadcast nationally by ABC.

Tickets for the Las Vegas Bowl are available now online at GoAztecs.com. Aztec fans are encouraged to purchase their Las Vegas Bowl tickets through San Diego State as they will not only be seated in the officially designated team areas, but will also help the athletic department meet ticket obligations and provide the best possible experience for all student-athletes at SDSU. Tickets are also available over the phone at (619) 283-SDSU or in person at the Aztec Athletic Ticket Office (Qualcomm Stadium, Window E).

Additionally, the first 500 student tickets purchased at the Viejas Arena Ticket Office with a valid SDSU ID will cost just $10. Student tickets are only available at the Viejas Arena Ticket Office.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago