SDSU Football Releases 2017 Team Awards

The Aztecs had their banquet on Sunday.
The Aztecs had their banquet on Sunday.
Dec. 13, 2017


Tickets | Bowl Central | Gallery

San Diego State senior running back Rashaad Penny was awarded the John Simcox Memorial Trophy as the 2017 team MVP at the team's annual banquet on Sunday.

Penny also took home the Byron H. Chase Memorial Offensive Player-of-the-Year award, rushing for a NCAA FBS-best 2,027 yards and 19 touchdowns on 275 carries (7.4 avg.), while adding 18 catches for 142 yards (7.9 avg.) and two touchdowns, 15 kickoff returns for 459 yards (30.6 avg.) and two touchdowns, and two punt returns for 70 yards (35.0 avg.), including a 70-yard touchdown. Penny, who finished fifth in the Heisman Trophy voting on Saturday and has been named a first-team All-America selection by nine outlets, also leads FBS in rushing yards per game (168.9), all-purpose yards (2,698) and all-purpose yards per game (224.8), while ranking second in total touchdowns (24), points (144) and points per game (12.0), tied for third in rushing touchdowns (19), tied for fifth in kickoff return touchdowns (2), sixth in rushing yards per carry (7.4), seventh in kickoff return average (30.6) and tied for 10th in punt return touchdowns (1).

Penny also shared the Dr. R. Hardy/C.E. Peterson 2017 Captain's Awards with fellow seniors Trey Lomax, Kameron Kelly and Antonio Rosales.

Kelly picked up the Byron H. Chase Defensive Player-of-the-Year, totaling 62 tackles (50 solo) so far, including four tackles for loss, two sacks, three interceptions, two forced fumbles and a quarterback hurry. Kelly has backed a defense that ranks first in FBS in fourth down conversion percentage (.143), fourth in first downs allowed (168), eighth in rushing (110.4), 11th in total (303.5), 15th in scoring (18.4) and 27th in passing (193.1).

Senior tight end David Wells earned the President's Award for High Academic Achievement, while Rosales was chosen as the Most Inspirational Player.

Israel Cabrera won the team's Most Valuable Special Teams Player after leading the squad with nine special teams tackles, and Keith Ismael and Tariq Thompson shared the Outstanding Freshman Award.

Tyler Roemer was chosen as the Offensive Lineman of the Year, while the Defensive Lineman of the Year went to Dakota Turner.

The Scout Team Player-of-the-Year awards went to Brandon Fitzpatrick (offense), Mark Brown (defense) and Micah Wierenga (special teams).

SDSU (10-2) will play Army West Point (9-3) in the Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl in Fort Worth, Texas, on Saturday, Dec. 23 at 2:30 p.m. CT.

Tickets are on sale online at, in person (SDCCU Stadium Window E) and over the phone ((619) 283-7378).

2017 SDSU Team Awards

John Simcox Memorial Trophy
Most Valuable Player

Rashaad Penny

Byron H. Chase Memorial Trophy
Offensive Player-of-the-Year

Rashaad Penny

Byron H. Chase Memorial Trophy
Defensive Player-of-the-Year

Kameron Kelly

Dr. R. Hardy/C.E. Peterson Memorial Trophy
Captain's Awards

Kameron Kelly
Trey Lomax
Rashaad Penny
Antonio Rosales

President's Award
High Academic Achievement

David Wells

Most Inspirational Player
Antonio Rosales

Most Valuable Special Teams Player
Israel Cabrera

Outstanding Freshman Award
Keith Ismael and Tariq Thompson

Offensive Lineman of the Year
Tyler Roemer

Defensive Lineman of the Year
Dakota Turner

Offensive Scout Team Player-of-the-Year
Brandon Fitzpatrick

Defensive Scout Team Player-of-the-Year
Mark Brown

Special Teams Scout Team Player-of-the-Year
Micah Wierenga

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago