Cevallos Wins Twice at ITA All-American Championships

Sept. 30, 2017

Results

TULSA, Okla. – San Diego State’s Santiago Cevallos (Queretaro, Mexico) won a pair of matches on Saturday to lead the Aztec men’s tennis team during the first two rounds of the pre-qualifying bracket at the 2017 Saint Francis Health System ITA All-American Championships.

Cevallos emerged victorious in his opening encounter with Christoffer Greve of Illinois State by a count of 7-5, 6-3, before recording another straight-set triumph over Marquette’s Luke Smrek, 6-4, 6-3. With his results, the SDSU senior will battle John Mee of Texas in the round of 64 on Sunday, starting at 10 a.m. CT/8 a.m. PT.

The remainder of the Aztec contingent was not as fortunate, however, with three players falling short in their respective matches. Junior Sander Gjoels-Andersen (Klampenborg, Denmark) came out on the wrong side of a 6-1, 6-2 score against UT Arlington’s Mauricio del Rio, while sophomore Joel Popov (Tampere, Finland) experienced a similar fate in his opening-round clash with Mantas Bugailiskis of Fresno State, dropped a 6-4, 6-1 decision.

In addition, sophomore transfer Arnaud Restifo (Nice, France), who received a first-round bye, was upended in a three-set nail-biter to UC Irvine’s Luca Marquard, 6-4, 6-7(3), 6-4.

The Saint Francis Health System ITA All-American Championships continue on Sunday with round of 64 and round of 32 action in the pre-qualifying bracket, as well as consolation matches.

In Sunday consolation draw for SDSU, Popov will face Marquette’s Luis Heredia, starting at 8 a.m. CT/6 a.m. PT, while Gjoels-Andersen will lock horns with Austen Huang of Columbia at 10 a.m. CT/8 a.m. PT. Later, Restifo will engage California’s Jack Molloy, beginning at 12:30 p.m. CT/10:30 a.m. PT.

Saint Francis Health System ITA All-American Championships
Tulsa, Okla.
SDSU Results Only

Pre-Qualifying Singles—Round of 256
Santiago Cevallos (SDSU) def. Christoffer Greve (Illinois State), 7-5, 6-3
Mauricio del Rio (UT Arlington) def. Sander Gjoels-Andersen (SDSU), 6-1, 6-2
Mantas Bugailiskis (Fresno State) def. Joel Popov (SDSU), 6-4, 6-1

Pre-Qualifying Singles—Round of 128
Santiago Cevallos (SDSU) def. Luke Smrek (Marquette), 6-4, 6-3
Luca Marquard (UC Irvine) def. Arnaud Restifo (SDSU), 6-4, 6-7(3), 6-4

TOP HEADLINES
TWITTER
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago