There are upcoming events.
more events
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
SDSU Men's Tennis Goes Undefeated in First Round

The Aztecs continue second round play on Friday in Malibu, Calif.
The Aztecs continue second round play on Friday in Malibu, Calif.

Oct. 22, 2004

MALIBU, Calif. - San Diego State men's tennis enjoyed a perfect day in singles action during first round play of the Wilson/ITA Western Regional Tennis Championships at Pepperdine University, sweeping all five opening round matches.

Junior Dontia Haynes defeated Kevin Borzenski of Pepperdine by a final tally of 6-2, 6-4. Fellow junior Benedikt Stronk recorded a round of 64 win over UC Santa Barbara's Leo Basilia, 7-5, 6-3.

Senior Armando Carrascosa and sophomores Markus Dickhardt and Christian Groh all were victorious at the annual event. Carrascosa defeated the tournament's No. 7 seed and No. 52 ranked player from UCLA Kris Kwinta (6-2, 6-0), Dickhardt was a straight sets winner over the ninth seed Johnathan Kinsella of Arizona State (7-6, 6-4), and Groh finished off San Diego's Matt Ozurovich in three sets by a score of 1-6, 6-3, 6-2.

In doubles action, Eugenio Romero-Wendlandt and Carrascosa lost in the first round to Southern California's Van't Hof/Wright, 9-7.

In the second round, the teams of Dickhardt/Haynes and Groh/Stronk both defeated a pair of teams from Loyola Marymount by the same score. Dickhardt/Haynes defeated Cinenas/Raja and Groh/Stronk beat Malet/Phillips both by a score of 8-5.

Singles second round action begins Friday at 9 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. Third round doubles action starts at 4 p.m. in Malibu, Calif.

First Round, Round of 64
Dontia Haynes (SDSU) def. Kevin Borzenski (Pepp.), 6-2, 6-4
Benedikt Stronk (SDSU) def. Leo Basilia (UCSB), 7-5, 6-3
Armando Carrascosa (SDSU) def. Kris Kwinta (UCLA), 6-2, 6-0
Markus Dickhardt (SDSU) def. Johnathan Kinsella (ASU), 7-6, 6-4
Christian Groh (SDSU) def. Matt Ozurovich (USD), 1-6, 6-3, 6-2

First Round
Van't Hof/Wright (USC) def. Carrascosa/Romero-Wendlandt (SDSU), 9-7
Second Round
Dickhardt/Haynes (SDSU) def. Cicenas/Raja (LMU), 8-5
Groh/Stronk (SDSU) def. Malet/Phillips (LMU), 8-5