There are upcoming events.
more events
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
MWC Men's and Women's Tennis Championship Brackets Released

Gene Carswell and the Aztecs head into the MWC Championships as the top-seeded team.
Gene Carswell and the Aztecs head into the MWC Championships as the top-seeded team.

2005 MWC Championship Men's Bracket
Download Free Acrobat Reader

2005 MWC Championship Women's Bracket
Download Free Acrobat Reader

April 19, 2005

SAN DIEGO - The Mountain West Conference released the brackets for the 2005 men's and women's tennis championships being held at Barnes Tennis Center on April 28-30. The men's draw will be single elimination, while the women's side will be a double elimination competition.

The San Diego State men's tennis team is the top-seeded team in the tournament and will receive a first-round bye along with Brigham Young, who finished a game behind the Aztecs. In opening round action, which begins April 28, No. 3 seed New Mexico will face sixth-seeded Air Force at 11 a.m. The second match of the day features fourth-seeded UNLV and the tournament's fifth seed, Utah, at 2:30.

The winner of the New Mexico-Air Force match will advance to play BYU at 11 a.m. April 29, while the UNLV-Utah winner will take on No. 1 seed San Diego State at 2:30 p.m. The championship final is scheduled for April 30 at noon.

The women's draw features four first round matches beginning with (2)New Mexico-(7)Wyoming and (3)UNLV-(6)Colorado State at 10 a.m., April 28. In the afternoon session, the fourth-seeded Aztecs will face No. 5 seed Utah and the tournament's eighth seed, Air Force, will oppose top-seeded BYU. Afternoon matches will begin at 2 p.m.

Both the winners and losers of each match will play April 29, at 10 a.m., with the fifth-place match and championship final slated for April 30 at 10 a.m. and noon, respectively.