Chelsea Hopkins Added to State Farm Wade Watch List

Chelsea Hopkins has been added to the State Farm Wade Watch List

Feb. 4, 2013

ATLANTA - San Diego State senior Chelsea Hopkins (Las Vegas, Nev.) is one of eight student-athletes added to the State Farm Wade Watch list, as announced Monday by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) on behalf of the Wade Trophy Coalition.

The national leader with three triple-doubles this season, Hopkins is averaging 13.6 points and 7.5 rebounds per game to go with 7.2 assists, which tops the Mountain West and ranks fourth in the country. The Aztec point guard has received MW Player of the Week accolades on three occasions and has posted double-digit scoring totals in 16 games, including the last seven in a row, featuring a career-high 25 points against Nevada on Jan. 23.

State Farm and the Wade Trophy Coalition present The State Farm Wade Trophy to the nation's most outstanding NCAA Division I women's basketball player each year - one who not only excels athletically but also serves as a positive role model both on and off the court. The acclaimed Wade Watch list, from which The State Farm Wade Trophy recipient is chosen, consists of players selected on the basis of game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

Joining Hopkins on the State Farm Wade Watch list, along with the preseason list of 25 Wade Watch hopefuls, are Texas A&M's Kelsey Bone, Gennifer Brandon and Layshia Clarendon of California, Connecticut's Kelly Faris, Tianna Hawkins of Maryland, Princeton's Niveen Rasheed and Meighan Simmons of Tennessee.

The State Farm Wade Watch list will be trimmed to 12 finalists in mid-March. State Farm and the Wade Trophy Coalition will officially announce the State Farm Wade Trophy winner during the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four in New Orleans, La.

The Wade Trophy, named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS). For the past 10 years the two have worked together to present The State Farm Wade Trophy player of the year award. A committee composed of coaches, administrators and media from across the United States selects the winner.

SDSU (15-5, 6-1 MW), which is tied for first in the conference with Fresno State, returns to the court on Wednesday, Feb. 6, when it travels to Boise State for a 7 p.m. MT (6 p.m. PT) tip-off.

Complete State Farm Wade Watch List

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago