There are upcoming events.
more events
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
SDSU Women's Basketball's Elliott, Strawberry Earn All-Conference Honors

Michelle Strawberry was named an MWC honorable mention selection after leaging the team in scoring in MWC games.
Michelle Strawberry was named an MWC honorable mention selection after leaging the team in scoring in MWC games.

March 7, 2005

SAN DIEGO - Two San Diego State women's basketball players, junior Michelle Strawberry (Corona, Calif.) and sophomore Michelle Elliott (Pasco, Wash.), have been named 2005 Mountain West Conference honorable mention selections, the league office announced Monday. Elliott was a third-team pick a year ago as a freshman, while Strawberry, who is in her second season of collegiate competition, is a first-time all-MWC honoree.

Elliott leads the Aztecs in scoring for the second straight year, averaging 11.8 points per game. She is tied for third in school history in career three-pointers with 82, including a career-best 44 in 2004-05, which is tied for 10th in the single-season record books. She has reached double-figures in points in 12 of her 22 games and has been SDSU's top scorer in 12 contests.

Elliott, who missed five games earlier this season due to injury, was the only freshman to be selected to the league's three teams in 2003-04, after putting up 12.4 points per game.

Strawberry, the only Aztec to play and start in every game this season, ranks eighth in the MWC with a 12.9 scoring average. She has tallied 10 or more points in 11 of 14 conference outings, after doing so only twice in the squad's first 12 games.

Part of Strawberry's surge in offense has been her ability to score from beyond the arc. Before MWC play started in mid-January, she was just 5-for-25 from three-point land. Since then, she has gone 26-for-71, including a trio of triples in each of the team's last three games.

A year ago, Strawberry averaged just 5.4 points per game overall and 4.8 points in MWC contests.

Utah juniors Kim Smith and Shona Thorburn shared the player-of-the-year award, marking the third straight honor for Smith. The other league regular season co-champion, New Mexico, picked up coach (Don Flanagan) and newcomer selections (Dionne Marsh), while Ute Lana Sitterud was voted the league's defensive player of the year. All honorees were picked in a vote by the league's eight head coaches.

Elliott, Strawberry and the No. 8 seed Aztecs face No. 1 seed New Mexico in the first round of the Mountain West Conference Championships this Wednesday at the Pepsi Center in Denver, Colo. Tip-off is set for noon MST/11 a.m. PST, while the game will be broadcast live on Channel 4 (TV) San Diego and via an audio webcast on

2004-05 All-Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Team

First Team

Shona Thorburn, Utah, Jr., 5-11, G
Kim Smith, Utah, Jr., 6-1, F
Ashley Elliott, Wyoming, Sr., 5-7, G
Lindsey Arndt, New Mexico, Sr., 6-1, F
Julie Sullivan, BYU, Sr., 5-8, G

Second Team Sheena Moore, UNLV, Jr., 5-7, G Mandi Moore, New Mexico, Sr., 5-7, G RanDee Henry, UNLV, Sr., 6-1, F Melissa Dennett, Colorado State, Jr., 6-2, F Hanna Zavecz, Wyoming, Fr., 6-0, F

Third Team Dionne Marsh, New Mexico, Fr., 6-1, F Lindsay Thomas, Colorado State, Jr., 6-3, C Danielle Cheesman, BYU, Sr., 6-2, F Lana Sitterud, Utah, Sr., 5-10, G Kristen Kozlowski, BYU, 6-2, Sr., F

Honorable Mention Michelle Elliott, SDSU, Jr., 5-11, G/F Michelle Strawberry, SDSU, Jr., 5-10, G Alecia Steele, Air Force, Fr., 6-0, F Katie Montgomery, New Mexico, So., 5-10, G Erin Hicks, Wyoming, Jr., 5-9 G Sequoia Holmes, UNLV, Fr., 6-1, F Ambrosia Anderson, BYU, Jr., 6-2, F Lauren Henderson, Air Force, Fr., 5-5, G

MWC Co-Players Of The Year: Kim Smith, Shona Thorburn, Utah Newcomer of the Year: Dionne Marsh, New Mexico Defensive Player of the Year: Lana Sitterud, Utah Coach of the Year: Don Flanagan, New Mexico

Print  Printer-friendly format Email a friend  Email this article