Aztec Rowing Takes First Over Sacramento State and Alabama

SDSU tops Hornets and Crimson Tide in Sacramento, Calif.

March 22, 2014

SACRAMENTO, Calif. - The San Diego State rowing team traveled north to take on Sacramento State and Alabama on Saturday and traveled home with a victory in the first varsity eight race. The regatta marked the second race of the spring season for the Aztecs.

In the first novice eight race, SDSU finished second with a time of 7 minutes, 18.2 seconds, just behind Sacramento State (7:15.6). Alabama posted a time of 7:20.3 with Sacramento State "B" coming in last at 7:45.0.

Sacramento State (6:55.6) ended up in first place for the second time of the day in the second varsity eight race. The Aztecs finished in second place with time of 6:58.7, with Alabama completing the race in 7:06.8 to take third place.

San Diego State was the fastest of the bunch with a time of 6:52.3 in the first varsity eight race, while the Hornets picked up a second-place finish in the race with a time of 7:49.6. Alabama fell to third place, posting a time of 7:10.9.

The Crimson Tide earned a victory in the varsity four race with a time of 7:45.9. Coming in second at 7:49.6 was Sacramento State, followed by SDSU with its only third-place finish of the day at 8:00.0.

Next Saturday, March 29, San Diego State will debut its new shell, honoring Martha Shumaker, the executive director of the San Diego Crew Classic. Shumaker worked with the Crew Classic since its inception in 1973.

The Aztecs will next face their cross-town rivals, UC San Diego, on Friday, March 28 at 7 a.m.


Novice 8:
Sacramento State - 7:15.6
SDSU - 7:18.2
Alabama - 7:20.3
Sacramento State "B" - 7:45.0

Second Varsity 8:
Sacramento State - 6:55.6
SDSU - 6:58.7
Alabama - 7:06.8

First Varsity 8:
SDSU - 6:52.3
Sacramento State - 6:55.6
Alabama - 7:10.9

Varsity 4:
Alabama - 7:45.9
Sacramento State - 7:49.6
SDSU - 8:00.0

Lineups: First Varsity Eight: Allison Jones (bow), Sarah Hultin (two), Jessica Haggard (three), Cassie Wilson (four), Julia Brockherde (five), Chelsee Brewster (six), Christa Carrillo (seven), Hillary Lupo (stroke) and Courtney Siemsen (coxswain).

Second Varsity Eight: Samantha Flores (bow), Ciara Estrada (two), Halei Warren (three), Campbell Oreglia (four), Mackenzie Morgan (five), Annalisa Duarte (six), Allison Litzinger (seven), Sarah Winfield (stroke) and Stephanie Schulman (coxswain).

Third Eight: Jamie Darling (bow), Patricia Gabbard (two), Haley Peterson (three), Bailey Buhrer (four), Christina Charlton (five), Paige Gugino (six), Olivia Kirkpatrick (seven), Amalia Cristiano (stroke), Stuti Desai (coxswain).

First Varsity Four: Haley Burton (bow), Rachel Borden (two), Miranda Orsinelli-Rivers (three), Kaitlyn Goss (stroke) and Jennifer Miller (coxswain).

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago