Rowing Concludes Home Slate Against USD

May 3, 2014

SAN DIEGO - On a sunny and perfect day for rowing, the San Diego State rowing team concluded its home slate on Saturday as it faced San Diego on Mission Bay. The event served as the final tune up for the Aztecs before they head off to the Conference USA Championship regatta on May 17.

The two San Diego schools used a 2 x 1500-meter race format for Saturday's outing. Despite the Toreros finishing ahead of the Aztecs in each event, SDSU was able to improve on previous times and configure lineups to be best utilized at its upcoming league regatta.

"It was beautiful, sunny and perfect conditions (for rowing) today," said head coach Bill Zack. "(After this morning's outing) we have the fastest possible lineups in addition to spending the week experimenting with some switches."

The varsity eight boat showed good early speed against USD but could not hold onto the Torero's base pace. In the second of the two 1500-meter outings, the eight lowered its stroke rate one or two strokes per minute which resulted in a better race pace for the Aztecs.

Saturday morning was the final home race for seniors Ciara Estrada, Chelsee Brewster, Samantha Flores, Courtney Siemsen and Alex Accornero. All seniors were recognized as this evening's awards dinner. In addition, Christa Carrillo was named the team's outstanding newcomer. Stephanie Schulman was tabbed the most outstanding coxswain as Hillary Lupo earned the most improved athlete. Finally, Chelsee Brewster garnered both the Stryker award for the most inspirational athlete and the Wolcott award for the most outstanding Aztec.

San Diego State will now prepare for the Conference USA Championship regatta to be held in Oak Ridge, Tenn., on May 17.


Varsity Eight: Allison Jones (bow), Ciara Estrada (two), Warren (three), Hillary Lupo (four), Julia Brockherde (five), Chelsee Brewster (six), Jessica Haggard (seven), Christa Carrillo (stroke) and Stephanie Schulman (coxswain).

Second Varsity Eight: Samantha Flores (bow), Kaitlyn Goss (two), Mackenzie Morgan (three), Campbell Oreglia (four), Vera Brockherde (five), Annalisa Duarte (six), Allison Litzinger (seven), Winfield (stroke) and Courtney Siemsen (coxswain).

Third Eight: Bianca Pires (bow), Paige Gugino (two), Miranda Orsinelli-Rivers (three), Bailey Buhrer (four), Christina Charlton (five), Michela Gentosi (six), Haley Peterson (seven), Alex Accornero (stroke) and Kendall Lyng (coxswain).

Four: Haley Burton (bow), Elizabeth Edmonds (two), Olivia Kirkpatrick (three), Rachel Borden (stroke) and Alyssa Lua (coxswain).

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago