There are upcoming events.
more events
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Aztec Swimming & Diving Completes Day One at MWC Championships

Junior Megan Flanagan was the Aztecs' top finisher in the 1-meter diving event.
Junior Megan Flanagan was the Aztecs' top finisher in the 1-meter diving event.

Feb. 27, 2008


OKLAHOMA CITY - The San Diego State women's swimming and diving team is in eighth place after the first day of competition at the Mountain West Conference championships held at the Oklahoma City Community College Aquatic Center. Two Aztec relay squads swam season-bests en route to totaling 55 points in three events on Wednesday.

The Scarlet and Black kicked off the swimming events with the quartet of Brooke Vessey, Katie Smith, Ana Dowell and Gina DiDomenico completing the 200 medley relay in a time of 1:46.53, shaving seconds off SDSU's previous season-best (1:50.22). The group's mark is also the third-fastest time in school history.

The Aztecs also had a season-best mark in the 800 freestyle relay as Kyla Power, Brittany Daly, Jessica Morrill and DiDomenico finished with a time of 7:41.44.

On the 1-meter board, two of San Diego State's six divers garnered top 15 finishes in the preliminary event to advance to the finals. In the opening round, Megan Flanagan was SDSU's top performer with a 10th-place finish (236.90), while Kathleen Heuring came in 14th with a score of 226.65. Caitlin Atkinson just missed the finals cutoff, as she totaled 214.35 points for 18th place. Flanagan went on to a third-place finish (247.05), while Heuring came in eighth (215.85) in the B final.

The four-day meet will continue tomorrow with preliminaries beginning at 8 a.m. PT. The events that are scheduled for tomorrow include the 500 freestyle, 200 individual medley, 50 free and 3-meter dive.

Mountain West Conference Championships
OKCCC Aquatic Center -- Oklahoma City, Okla.
Feb. 27, 2008

Standings After Day One
1. BYU (111)
2. Wyoming (102)
3. Colorado State (87)
4. Utah (78)
5. UNLV (74)
6. New Mexico (61)
7. TCU (59)
8. San Diego State (55)
9. Air Force (36)