San Diego State/USD to Host Wilson/ITA Regional Tennis Championship

Oct. 17, 2005


San Diego State, along with the University of San Diego, will be hosting the Wilson/Intercollegiate Tennis Association West Women's Regional Championships October 20-24. The singles finalists and doubles champion from this event will earn spots in the November 3-6 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships hosted by The Ohio State University at the Racquet Club of Columbus.

In addition to hosts San Diego State and San Diego, this event will feature the top players from Division I schools from Arizona, California, Nevada and Hawaii. This week's top singles seeds are Lindsey Nelson (USC), Amanda Fink (USC), Elena Gantcheva (UNLV), Bianca Dulgheru (Pepperdine), Emma Murphy (USD), Anca Anastasiu (USC), Dianne Matias (USC), Laura Gordon (UCLA), Alex McGoodwin (UCLA), Tracy Lin (UCLA), Carine Vermeulen (USC), Sylvia Kosakowski (Pepperdine), Alesya Vidov (SDSU), Marielle Greuning (UCSB), Natalie Braverman (Pepperdine), and Ashley Joelson (UCLA).

The top doubles seeds are Lindsey Nelson/Dianne Matias (USC), Carine Vermeulen/Amanda Fink (USC), Elena Gantcheva/Sharon Marin (UNLV), Eva Dickes/Bianca Dulgheru (Pepperdine), Laura Gordon/Ashley Joelson (UCLA), Elizabeth Lumpkin/Tracy Lin (UCLA), Emma Murphy/Lauren Perl (USD) and Anca Anastasiu/Judy DeVera (USC).

Seventeen Wilson/ITA Regional Championships for NCAA Division I men and women are taking place over these last two weekends of October at campuses throughout the country.

The 2005 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships, the nation's premier collegiate indoor tennis tournament, is the second of three national championship events for college tennis this season. The first events - the Riviera/ITA Women's and Polo Ralph Lauren Men's All-American Championships - were held earlier this month, and the third event is season-ending NCAA Championships in May. The ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships feature a 32-player singles field and 16-team doubles field for men and women, including: qualifiers from these Wilson/ITA Regional Championships held across the country, the ITA National Small College champions, top performers from the ITA All-American Championships and at-large card selections made by the ITA National Tournament Committee. Overall, more than 7,000 players from nearly 600 schools participate annually in the ITA Regional and National Intercollegiate Championships.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago