T-No. 13 Water Polo’s Rally Falls Short vs. No. 15 Wagner

Feb. 3, 2018

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - T-No. 13 San Diego State used a big third-quarter rally to get to within a goal of 15th-ranked Wagner, but could not keep the momentum going in the fourth quarter and ended up on the wrong end of a 10-6 score Saturday night at the Bruno Classic.

The Aztecs (1-1) fell behind, 3-1, after one quarter and 5-2 by the time the second-period horn went off. San Diego State received a pair of great defensive efforts toward the end of the half, thwarting two fast-break opportunities. Paola Vizcarra recorded SDSU’s first goal and Mary Myers followed suit in the second.

San Diego State used a furious rally in the third quarter, scoring two unanswered goals, one each from Hannah Carrillo and Emily Bennett. Wagner stopped the run with a goal from Kimberly Watson, but SDSU pulled to within one with a Vizcarra goal with 1:42 left in the frame.

The Aztec comeback, however, stalled in the fourth quarter as the offense was only able to muster a Carrillo goal with 91 seconds left in the game. Wagner, meanwhile, was able to score four times to provide the final margin.

SDSU returns to action on Sunday when it will play two games, beginning at 9:45 a.m. ET/6:45 a.m. PT vs. No. 18 Hartwick. The final game will take place vs. the hosts, T-No. 25 Brown, at 1:30 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. PT.

No. 15 Wagner 10, T-No. 13 San Diego State 6
Katherine Moran Coleman Aquatics Center (Providence, R.I.)

SDSU: 1-1-3-1—6
WAG: 3-2-1-4—10

SDSU goals: Hannah Carrillo 2, Paola Vizcarra 2, Emily Bennett 1, Mary Myers 1
WAG goals: Kristy Donkin 3, Erica Hardy 2, Jacqui Sogren 2, Kimberly Watson 2, Elise Begg 1

SDSU saves: Emily Lowell 4
WAG saves: unavailable

TOP HEADLINES
TWITTER
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago