National Collegiate Water Polo Championship Starts Friday

The National Collegiate Water Polo National Championship starts Friday at Aztec Aquaplex.

May 7, 2012


2012 National Collegiate Water Polo Championship BracketGet Acrobat Reader

The National Collegiate Water Polo Championship is set to begin this Friday at San Diego State's Aztec Aquaplex. Eight teams will compete for the 2012 national championship in a tournament that is slated for May 11-13.

Stanford, one of two at-large squads, is the top seed and will face eighth-seeded Pomona-Pitzer, the automatic qualifier out of the SCIAC. UCLA, the MPSF champion, is the No. 2 seed and will have the task of facing the MAAC champion, Iona, which is the field's No. 7 seed.

The second at-large team is USC, the No. 3 seed. The Trojans will face Princeton, the CWPA champion and sixth-seeded squad. The Big West automatic qualifier, UC Irvine, is the field's fourth-seeded team and the Anteaters will take on fifth-seeded Loyola Marymount out of the WWPA. All first round games are set for Friday, May 11.

All-session passes are available now by visiting or by calling the Aztec Ticket Office at (619) 283-7378. All-session passes for adults are $65 with discounted passes going for $35. Discounted passes are available for youth ages 12 and under, and any student with a valid ID. Children two years and under are free.

Singles-session passes, meanwhile, will also be on sale for $25, with discounted tickets going for $15. Single-session tickets will go on sale starting at 11 a.m. PT, which is one hour before the first game of the day. These passes can be purchased at the Aztec Ticket Office in front of Tony Gwynn Stadium.

Fans are encouraged to purchase all-session passes in advance. In 2010, when SDSU hosted the Championship, several sessions sold out.

2012 National Collegiate Water Polo Championship Schedule
Aztec Aquaplex | San Diego, Calif.

Friday, May 11
Game 1 - No. 2 UCLA vs. No. 7 Iona, Noon PT
Game 2 - No. 3 USC vs. No. 6 Princeton, 1:45 p.m. PT
Game 3 - No. 1 Stanford vs. No. 8 Pomona-Pitzer, 3:30 p.m. PT
Game 4 - No. 4 UC Irvine vs. No. 5 Loyola Marymount, 5:15 p.m. PT

Saturday, May 12
Game 5 - Loser Game 2 vs. Loser Game 1, Noon PT
Game 6 - Loser Game 6 vs. Loser Game 4, 1:45 p.m. PT
Game 7 - Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 3:30 p.m. PT
Game 8 - Winner Game 2 vs. Winner Game 1, 5:15 p.m. PT

Sunday, May 13
Seventh-Place Game - Loser Game 5 vs. Loser Game 6, Noon PT
Fifth-Place Game - Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6, 1:45 p.m. PT
Third-Place Game - Loser Game 7 vs. Loser Game 8, 3:30 p.m. PT
Championship Game - Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 8, 5:15 p.m. PT

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago