Program-Record Six Earn ACWPC All-Academic Honors

Anique Hermann was named to the ACWPC All-Academic Outstanding team.

July 10, 2012

SAN DIEGO - A San Diego State women's water polo-record six student-athletes earned Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) All-Academic honors. In addition, SDSU had its first Outstanding team member since 2005.

Student-athletes fall into three different levels (Outstanding, Superior and Excellent) when being recognized by the ACWPC. Outstanding honorees have grade-point averages between 4.00 and 3.71, Superior team members have GPAs between 3.70 and 3.41, and those named to the Excellent squad own GPAs between 3.40 and 3.20.

Freshman Anique Hermann was selected to the Outstanding team and is the first Aztec to achieve the feat since Monica DeRosier in 2005. Hermann is just the fourth in program history to earn Outstanding accolades joining DeRosier, Nicole Morasky (2000) and Heidi Bradley (1999).

Senior Leanne Ford, junior Alex Ford and freshmen Kelli Boling and Carina Carballo, meanwhile, landed on the Superior list. For Leanne Ford, this is the third time she has been recognized by the ACWPC after garnering Excellent-team accolades in 2011 and 2010. Alex Ford is also a multiple-time award winner after being appointed to the 2011 Excellent team.

Another freshman, Tori Long, completes the school-record list of honorees as she was tabbed to the Excellent team.

As a team, San Diego State was one of 20 schools nationally to be recognized for its team GPA. At the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation level, the Aztecs were one of two schools joining Stanford in the eight-team league to earn the team award.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago