Cross Country Opens Season Saturday

Sept. 1, 2016

SDSU Cross Country Weekly Release Get Acrobat Reader

Mark Covert Classic Preview
After winning the race a year ago, the San Diego State cross country team will look to kick off the 2016 campaign in similar fashion Saturday at Cal State Fullerton's Mark Covert Classic Invitational in Brea, Calif.

The women's 5K invitational will start at 9:15 a.m. PT and follows the men's invitational 8K, which is set for 8:30 a.m. PT. The meet will once again be held at Carbon Canyon Park (4442 Carbon Canyon Regional Park, Brea, CA 92821).

Formerly the Fullerton Season Opener, it was renamed the Mark Covert Classic in 2012 in honor of the 1970 Division II champion and Cal State Fullerton alum. The course consists of multiple loops alternating between a 1K grass inner loop in the main section of the park and a dirt trail nature loop.

The Aztecs and host Titans will be joined by squads from Loyola Marymount (LOYM), Canyons (CANS), Glendale (GCC), Hope International (INT2), La Verne (LAVE), Mt. SAC (MSAC), Palomar (PALO), San Diego (SDU), Vanguard and Whittier (WHCA). Additional track clubs that will be competing include Arc Racing Project (ARC), Cal Coast Track Club (CAL), Empire Elite (EMPI), Greater Philadelphia Track Club (GREA), In Stride (INS), New Basin Blues Running Club (NEW), So Cal Track Club (SOC), The Masters (THEM), as well as some unattached athletes.

2015 Recap
This year's SDSU team features 11 runners, including five transfers, who will join four returners from a 2015 squad that finished 25th at the NCAA West Regionals.

For the second consecutive season, senior Elaine Ribeiro was the team’s top finisher, posting the Aztecs’ best times in six of seven races last year. Ribeiro, a MW Women’s Cross Country Athlete of the Week, won the individual title at the 71st Aztec Invitational, beating out 125 other entrants (18:09.74) over the 5,000-meter course. It was the first win by a SDSU runner since 2012.

San Diego State’s other three returners are senior Cali King, who finished among the team’s top five in five races, junior Cassidy Towner, who ran in the top three on the team in six races, including being the No. 1 runner at the MW Championships, and junior Lily Seynaeve, who was in the team’s top five in all five races in which she competed.

Transfers Angel Bucci (UMBC), Christian Calain (Arizona), Christine Kent (South Carolina), Monique McPherson and Angela Wilson (Antelope Valley College), in addition to walk-on Mary Kunigan, round out the squad.

Last year at this meet, San Diego State won the meet, led by Ribeiro’s second-place time of 18:05.48.

Results for the Mark Covert Classic Invitational will be posted first on and later on

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago